Forum Thread: How to Learn Shaolin Martial Arts the Proper Way

My name is Douwe ter Horst and i live in Zutphen in the Netherlands. Since i was a child i was always fascinated about Chinese martial arts. Movies about Kung Fu with actors like: Bruce Lee, Jackie Chan, Jet Li, Donnie Yen and other drawed me into the practising of CMA Chinese martial arts. After having trained in multiple styles i ended up with Shaolin Temple Kungfu which became my main martial art.

After having trained for quite a while i thought i was ready to start my own martial arts academy. So i started Shaolin Kung Fu Zwolle, The Way of Shaolin. So since i am a martial arts teacher, i also wanted to write this article to teach my views on learning Shaolin Kungfu with the world.

Wat are good steps to learn Shaolin Kungfu? How to learn it properly? My 5 step guide is here to support Shaolin Kungfu practitioners.

Step 1: Do Research on Good Shaolin Martial Arts Schools

There are many Shaolin martial arts schools in the world, many use the name Shaolin and the name is much used and misused because of the fame and popularity of the name. So understand that everything that is called 'Shaolin' does not always have a lineage to the real Shaolin martial arts.

In the 1980s but also through the 1990s you could find styles like: Shaolin Karate, Shaolin Kempo, Shaolin ryu ninjitsu and even Shaolin Kickboxing. You should look for a Shaolin Martial Arts school which is connected and recognized by China or a Chinese master of Shaolin Kungfu.

Step 2: Do at Least 2 Trial Lessons at the Shaolin Kungfu School You Found

To try and experience a lesson is the way to see if the school fits you. Some schools of Shaolin Temple martial arts are only practising forms. So , if learning forms for health and well being is your goal then yes, it might be the school for you. Forms make you fit, flexible and develop your warrior spirit.